Monthly Goals: February and March

I have a goal setting group with a bunch of my old coworkers. Most of them still work together, and this is a great way for me to keep in touch while having a community of people to hold me accountable. Each week, I send out an email to them with my own progress and some of my thinking around goal setting. I always try to include a few inspirational quotes, because although I can listen to myself talk all day, there are a lot of people out there that have said some pretty insightful things that are worth sharing.

My goal for February was to eat more mindfully. I hate when I get done with a meal and can’t even seem to remember what anything tasted like. More often than not, this is because I’m reading a book or doing homework or watching TV. So for the month of February, I committed to eating at least one meal per day without any distractions. Breakfast was the easiest meal to pull this off; I haven’t yet started the day. By lunch, I’m working or studying or really want to take a Facebook break, so I usually eat alongside my computer. And I’m okay with that. Baby steps, people! 

I also wanted to eat more slowly, putting my fork down between every bite and chewing thoroughly. Ideally, all of this would culminate in better digestion and more satisfaction with my food. I’m happy to report that while I still had many moments of eating thoughtlessly only to discover I’d had 7 cookies without noticing it, I had more moments of really enjoying my food and feeling satisfied at the end of a meal.

In choosing this as my goal, I knew it would be a learning edge. Often, I engage in things that I know I will be successful in, because failure feels bad and messy. But this time, I really wanted to push myself in an area that doesn’t come so easily.

For March, I decided I’m going to share my goal here and a modified weekly update as well. And it’s fitting that my goal for March is to update here twice per week. Thoughtful posts with substance not fluff. Pushing myself to write more often and more intentionally is a huge learning edge for me. I used to be an avid journaler, but I’ve fallen way out of practice. So I intend to be here twice a week, even it means pulling up a writing prompt and writing awkwardly about whatever the question may be. It can only go up from there.

To close, I’ll share the few quotes that I shared in my email to the group today.

Be not afraid of growing slowly; be afraid only of standing still.
Chinese Proverb

What progress, you ask, have I made? I have begun to be a friend to myself.
Hecato, Greek philosopher

If we all did the things we are capable of, we would astound ourselves.
Thomas Edison 

Don’t wait for extraordinary opportunities. Seize common occasions and make them great.
Orison Swett Marden 

Leave a Reply

