March Goals: Week 1

Well here I am with my second blog post, so I guess I’m achieving my goal for this week. I might need to add in something slightly more challenging! We’ll see. 

I came across a blog post from the website Tiny Buddha called 7 Tips to Challenge Perfectionism: How To Enjoy More and Worry Less, which I thought could be fitting for some of us. It can be easy (at least for me) to get caught up in not doing anything until I can do it right, which often means not getting much done. Perfectionism is a trap – because nothing will ever be perfect, and expecting it to be means you’ll always be disappointed.
 
I see this in my goal; I don’t always feel like I have much to say or I feel like it’s been said already. But then I write a post and hit publish, and people seem to like it okay and even if they don’t, it turns out I can just write another post the next day that people like better! It’s the same way with running – not every run is good. It doesn’t mean I stop running! Potential failure, or even actual failure, is no excuse not to get started. We just learn and move on to the next!
 
Two quotes from you today that relate to perfectionism today, both from the lovely Emerson. 
 
Every artist was first an amateur.
Ralph Waldo Emerson
 
Most of the shadows of this life are caused by our standing in our own sunshine.
Ralph Waldo Emerson
Leave a Reply

