March Goals, Week 2

I hope everyone has recovered from the DST shift. I’m still mourning the loss of my morning sunlight and have resigned myself to running in the dark for a bit. But on the other hand, we went for a walk to pick up our CSA this week and it was a lovely evening, so I guess that’s the trade off!
 
When it comes to goals, sometimes it seems like there are trade offs as well, whether it’s time or money or another commitment or social interactions. As much as I wish I could, I can’t write a blog post while cooking dinner and talking to Alex at the same time. Writing requires me to sit down and focus, at least for a little while. I imagine it’s the same for many other goals – learning a language, eating healthier, exercising, etc. They all require us to take something (usually time) from one aspect of our lives and direct it a different way.
 
And, at least for me, that’s not always easy. There are so many things I want to do and how will I ever get them all done?! The truth is, I won’t, and I want the things I do get done to be quality. I don’t want to dash off a three sentence blog post because I’m doing five other things at the same time (it’s happened!) 
 
But then there are the payoffs of that focus. For me, it’s getting  a well thought post up on the blog and knowing that even if people don’t read it, at least it was thoughtful (which hopefully means more people will enjoy it!). Or when it comes to marathon training, it’s finishing a long run and feeling good because I’ve been training consistently. Maybe I had to go to bed at 9 pm on Friday night and get up to run on Saturday morning, but then my body and mind feel great at the end of the run. 
 
The “too long, didn’t read” version of this post  is that sometimes we have to accept that there are going to be tradeoffs because it’s impossible to put all of our time into everything all at once. But that while we’re giving up something, we’re likely gaining something too, which might be even better than the thing we’re giving up. 
 
Concentrate all your thoughts upon the work at hand. The sun’s rays do not burn until brought to a focus. 
Alexander Graham Bell 
 
Most people have no idea of the giant capacity we can immediately command when we focus all of our resources on mastering a single area of our lives.
Tony Robbins 
 
Do whatever you do intensely.
Robert Henri
 
Take up one idea. Make that one idea your life – think of it, dream of it, live on that idea. Let the brain, muscles, nerves, every part of your body, be full of that idea, and just leave every other idea alone. This is the way to success, that is way great spiritual giants are produced. Swami Vivekananda 
 
Have a great weekend!
Leave a Reply

