Your Tips for Self Care During Training

Happy St. Patty’s Day everyone! Instead of getting out to the bars at  7 am, we slept in and went out for a run instead. I didn’t even have any green to wear, but I’m making up for it now by wearing green pajama pants and a green tank top. The cats are mighty impressed with my Irish spirit (right).

We ran about 13 miles. It ended up being 12.5 miles because the very end included some of the steepest hills in San Francisco, so we decided that counted for extra miles (or something). The turnaround point for our run included a high ten at Hopper’s Hands.

Ken Hopper was a Golden Gate Bridge iron worker turned suicide rescue volunteer that noticed runners slapping the fence as they turned around at the dead end; so he asked to have a high ten put up so runners would have a goal. For more information, check out this SF Examiner article.

IMG_2074

At the end of our run, we visited the new Bi-Rite Market on Divisadero to pick up lunch. The market just opened last Wednesday, and it’s lovely. We picked up sandwiches and some other snacks, and I couldn’t help sneaking a few other photos. 

IMG_2076 IMG_2077

We took our goodies up to Alamo Square for an impromptu picnic lunch.

IMG_2081

A lunch of green things for St. Patty’s Day!

IMG_2084

Sweaty but happy!

IMG_2085

Such a clear and beautiful day.  I feel so lucky that we’re able to run in San Francisco where we can set off at 10:30 am for our long run. I know I follow bloggers who live in Florida who have to head out super early, or those that live on the East Coast where they are kept inside by snow for at least a few months of the year.

All in all, it was a great run and a great day, but I definitely didn’t want to do much other than hang out on the couch for the rest of the afternoon. I have noticed that as we ramp up our mileage, I’m experiencing more fatigue during the week. I traveled a lot during my last marathon training season a few years ago and felt like I was tired all the time for a lot of reasons.

This time, the only change is an increase in running and I’m wondering if there are any long distance runners lurking out there that can offer advice on what has worked for them to stay happy and healthy. I got really sick last time during training and would really like to avoid that this time. I’m definitely trying to get more sleep and not run around quite so much, but if you’re out there and have the magic formula, do share in the comments!

 

Leave a Reply

