March Goals, Week 3: Community

It’s week three of our March goal challenge, and the first day of spring! And I could talk about renewal and new growth and all that. But really, I’m feeling fresh out of motivational mojo today, so I’m keeping it short.

I created my goal setting group, and I blog here, to be in community with other writers and people that love food and exercise and living well.  I’ve recently read a rash of blog posts on the value of blogging (so meta), and I commented on one that we choose to blog rather than journal for a reason. We hope that someone will read our words and have a “hey, me too!” moment or say “actually, I feel differently, and let me tell you why.”

We hope that our reflections will spark something in others – whether it be motivation to get in the kitchen or hit the pavement, or sit down and start a blog of their own. I am here because of so many great bloggers out there that share not only recipes and workout routines but peeks into their lives. 

Showing up for each other is powerful stuff. Not everyone does it. Certainly not online, but also not in the real world. It can be easy to isolate ourselves and feel like we don’t want or need help. But I fully believe that to achieve all that we want to as individuals and as a society, we’re going to need to do it together. There are many ways to do it, and blogging is just one way of sharing stories and relating to one another. 

I guess that didn’t end up being that short so I’ll wrap it up with some quotes about community:
 
“Pull up a chair. Take a taste. Come join us. Life is so endlessly delicious.” 
― Ruth Reichl
 
“Every person is defined by the communities she belongs to.” 
― Orson Scott CardSpeaker for the Dead
 
“A proper community, we should remember also, is a commonwealth: a place, a resource, an economy. It answers the needs, practical as well as social and spiritual, of its members – among them the need to need one another. The answer to the present alignment of political power with wealth is the restoration of the identity of community and economy.
(pg. 63, “Racism and the Economy”)” 
― Wendell BerryThe Art of the Commonplace: The Agrarian Essays
 
“Everybody is a story. When I was a child, people sat around kitchen tables and told their stories. We don’t do that so much anymore. Sitting around the table telling stories is not just a way of passing time. It is the way the wisdom gets passed along. The stuff that helps us to live a life worth remembering.” 
― Rachel Naomi Remen
 
“[Neighbor is] not he whom I find in my path, but rather he in whose path I place myself, he whom I approach and actively seek.” 
― Gustavo GutiérrezA Theology of Liberation
One thought on “March Goals, Week 3: Community

  1. This may be my favorite out of all that you have written. I resonate with the content and the sentiment! Thank you.

Leave a Reply

