March Goals: Building Momentum

This was supposed to go out last week and I found it in my drafts folder! So pretend for a minute it’s last Wednesday and read on!
****
Whoa, March is pretty much over – can you believe it?! I posted 2-3 times per wek for the first two weeks and then last week slipped away from me. This is my first post this week too, so I better get on it!  The great part about writing more is that more ideas come to me – the power of momentum!
Momentum is so important in creating new habits. When I was in high school, I worked out regularly and played badminton (I got a varsity letter and everything). My first semester in college, I was having so much fun with new friends that working out and eating healthfully weren’t priorities and I gained the freshman 40 (in 3 months!). It was easy to just let the tide of staying up late, eating crap, and taking naps sweep me away.  I didn’t care so much about the weight gain, but I knew I could feel better physically and mentally. My second quarter, I started doing tae kwon do and hitting the gym again, and making more balanced food choices and felt so much better!
I think the story illustrates that momentum can take you in any direction and you have to intentionally build it towards the goal you want to achieve. And it’s not always foolproof. This morning Alex and I were supposed to get out for 10 mile training run and I am in my pajamas with a cat on my lap catching up on email and getting some work done instead. But hopefully our general training momentum will carry me through the run tomorrow, which will propel me on to the next one.
Building momentum toward a goal takes effort – it’s not easy! I have tried and failed many times to build momentum towards certain goals like learning German or keeping my house tidy or checking Facebook less. Momentum takes time, and sometimes I just don’t have the time or energy to put into a particular goal. Here’s a great article from Zen Habits on harnessing the power of momentum.
Some quotes for you from a wide range of folks today:
Sometimes thinking too much can destroy your momentum.
– Tom Watson, pro golfer
 
Success requires first expending ten units of effort to produce one unit of results. Your momentum will then produce ten units of results with each unit of effort.
– Charles J. Givens, author
 
Enthusiasm is the energy and force that builds literal momentum of the human soul and mind.
Bryant H. McGill, author/speaker/activist 
 
Most of life is routine – dull and grubby, but routine is the momentum that keeps a man going. If you wait for inspiration you’ll be standing on the corner after the parade is a mile down the street.
– Ben Nicholas, Australian Actor
 
The world is wide, and I will not waste my life in friction when it could be turned into momentum.
Frances E. Willard, women’s suffragist 
Leave a Reply

