April Goals: Fear of Success

Happy April everyone! 
 
I don’t know about the rest of you, but even with the sunny weather we’ve had this winter, I’ve been in slow-down mode for the last few months. Even when I’ve been busy and checking things off my to-do list, my mindset has been “slow and steady wins the race.” I’ve been nesting a bit (although our walls are still pretty bare) and spending quite a bit of time on the couch. 
 
Well folks, times they are a changin’! We’re launching into April and we’re launching into spring and it’s time to step it up! I firmly believe we should always be kind to ourselves, and part of that is knowing when to step back and take some pressure off. But the other part of it is knowing when you’re phoning it in and take a hard look at your priorities so you can see where to push yourself. 
 
This week, I’m confronting the possibility that fear of success that might be holding me back from reaching my goals. It sounds silly, but I find it happens to me more than I’d like to admit. 
 
Successfully reaching goals can be scary because it can dramatically change the path of your life. If you commit to working out 4 times per week this month and you do it and feel great, you’re going to want to work out 4 times per week every month and how will you ever find the time?! Or maybe you really want to write a novel but what if you do and it’s great and suddenly you have to deal with getting a book published and possibly going on a book tour? Or maybe you want to finally kick your sweets habit but are worried about what will happen at friend and family gatherings with copious amounts of dessert. 
 
When we gain something by being successful, it means we have more to lose.   There is pressure around being successful – what if you don’t sustain your goals? Success requires change, and that alone is scary enough to sometimes make us hold ourselves back. Here’s an article from Tiny Buddha (one of my favorite blogs) on how to overcome the fear of success and start thriving.
 
Don’t set yourself up to fail by holding yourself to unrealistic, impossibly high standards. But DO set standards and push yourself to meet them! Even if we stumble along the way or even if we have to do it in small steps, everyone on this list is capable of making big, lasting life changes. 
 
How am I going to live today in order to create the tomorrow I’m committed to?  ~Anthony Robbins
 
Don’t be afraid to take a big step if one is indicated; you can’t cross a chasm in two small jumps. ~David Lloyd George
 
Only those who will risk going too far can possibly find out how far one can go.  ~T.S. Eliot
 
My goal for this month is to foam roll and/or stretch every day – I’m traveling a lot and I don’t want to lug my foam roller everywhere. Marathon training wreaks havoc on your body and foam rolling is like a (painful) mini massage. If I’m going to push body to run 26.2 miles, I better damn well take care of it! Maybe it’s not a big life changing goal, but it is a small step toward prioritizing myself and my body, and I’ll take it!
 
Leave a Reply

