April Goals, Week 3: Commitment

I promise that I’ve been eating and exercising and I owe you an update on that stuff soon. I just had my last midterm and now finals are looming, PLUS it’s spring and it’s so nice out that I’ve avoided my computer just a bit.

But I’ve had some fun adventures to share such as a trip to New York where I stayed in the smallest room ever that didn’t have a ceiling:

IMG_2188

IMG_2187

And enjoyed a delicious shake from One Lucky Duck:

IMG_2190

Then I went on to LA where I got in a nice long walk along the beach.

IMG_2220

And then I finally went on a girl’s trip to San Luis Obispo where I didn’t take too many pictures because I was eating, chatting, and laughing too much.

All of this traveling means that I haven’t been stretching or foam rolling as much as I should. I’ve definitely let my commitment get away from me. So I’m thinking of adding another goal on top of continuing to stretch and foam roll for the month of May.

While it’s fun to switch up goals every month, I also think it sometimes doesn’t give us quite enough time to develop the habit that we’re striving for. Especially if it’s a tougher goal, it’s easy to let it go at the end of the month. There is power in the commitment we make each month that drives us and when that commitment is gone, sometimes that goal slides away along with it.

Even though I am training for a marathon, I am not one of those people that loves running and can’t wait to lace up my shoes. Especially now where our training runs are long, I don’t always want to go. Finals are coming up, we have a wedding to plan, there are birthdays to celebrate, etc. But I put on my shoes and I get out there and sometimes the runs are as awful as I expect them to be and sometimes they are awesome. Either way, I get my butt out there and do it because I committed to doing it and I know it will make for a better race, keep me healthy, and is quality time to spend with Alex.
Showing up – whatever that means for your goal – can seem daunting. But once you do it enough, it becomes ingrained in your behavior pattern and suddenly you find that you have plenty of room to do it. So don’t shortchange yourself and let go just because it’s hard. Just show up and go from there.
Here’s a great link from Zen Habits on when to quit your habits (the answer is when you don’t want to anymore!)

The quality of a person’s life is in direct proportion to their commitment to excellence, regardless of their chosen field of endeavor.
Vince Lombardi 

Commitment is an act, not a word.
Jean-Paul Sartre

Productivity is never an accident. It is always the result of a commitment to excellence, intelligent planning, and focused effort.
Paul J. Meyer 

Unless commitment is made, there are only promises and hopes; but no plans.
Peter F. Drucker

Leave a Reply

