An Afternoon Snack at Starbucks

After coming to love coffee through drinking it at the many roasteries in San Francisco, I don’t often find myself sitting in a Starbucks. I’m a wuss when it comes to coffee, and Starbucks just isn’t the smoothest.  Their Frappucinos are like dessert in a cup, but I’d honestly rather have a pie shake (if you live in SF, go get one. You’ll only be a little bit sorry and it will be totally worth it.

But today when I found myself with time to kill waiting for Alex, a grumbly tummy, and a Starbucks near by, I ventured in to find a snack. First, I just ordered a Sweet Greens Evolution juice. At 100 calories and 20 grams of sugar for the bottle, plus a good dose of greens, I felt this to be pretty reasonable. But I had a pretty early lunch, and juice plus water just wasn’t going to cut it.sweetgreens

I poked my way through the food offerings, thrilled to see that they now have a brown rice and veggie salad with lemon tahini sauce, but knowing that would fill me up too much. The La Boulange baked goods looked tasty (albeit a little sadder than before they were mass produced for Starbucks everywhere), but I wanted something slightly healthier and more substantial.

Then I came upon the Evolution snack bars. I decided on the Roasted Soybean, Pepita and Almond flavor. 200 calories, 10 grams of protein and only 5 grams of sugar, plus an ingredient list I recognized. Compared to 18-24ish grams of sugar in a Larabar, the 5 grams is a feat. The Evolution bars are slightly higher in fat and sodium than my favorite Larabar flavor (14 grams vs. 9 grams of fat and 120 mg vs. 30 mg sodium ), but I was willing to take the tradeoff.

The bar was nutty, only slightly sweet, and had a good amount of chew. I admit to being impressed. And although I was expecting to be gouged, it was only $1.95, which is on par with snack bars across the board.

Although I try to bring my own snacks when I know I’m going to be out and about, sometimes I just want to hang out and take advantage of some free wifi, which requires making a purchase. And I don’t normally write about products, but I happened to have enjoyed it enough to want to share. So many of us these days find ourselves on the run, and sometimes forget to pack a snack or have an unexpected delay somewhere. Finding healthy options can be a challenge, so it’s good to know that Starbucks, which has infiltrated the world, will have something for you!

Leave a Reply

