Links Worth Sharing: 9/28/13

I commute a lot during the week, so I spend quite a bit of time perusing various blogs an news sources. I always appreciate link round ups, so on Saturdays I’ll share some things to read with your morning coffee or tea. 

Learning So Much It Hurts
I
 don’t have anything to say about this link except: read it. It’s worth it. “So. I am learning, yet again, that becoming a better person is damn hard.It actually hurts. And because it hurts, it takes courage to keep at it. Just as my physiotherapist is releasing and breaking up the knotted bands of connective tissue that have led to a systemic breakdown in my body, I have to break down and rebuild the zillions of deeply embedded habits that make up the fabric of my productivity—and associated identity. There are setbacks. Generally, it hurts worse before it feels better. But on the other side of the tears there is release and relief, discovery and recovery.” 

CrossFit’s Dirty Little Secret
CrossFit works for a lot of people, and there is some element of personal responsibility here. But this is still a little scary:  “The science confirms that exertional rhabdomyolysis, as this form is sometimes referred to, is uncommon and normally reserved for the elite military trainee, ultra-endurance monsters, and for victims of the occasional psychotic football coach. Rhabdomyolysis isn’t a common condition, yet it’s so commonly encountered in CrossFit that they have a cartoon about it,nonchalantly casting humor on something that should never happen.” 

Why Generation Y Yuppies are Unhappy
I
 can definitely relate to this. I consistently struggle with the “follow your passion” mantra. “The GYPSY needs a lot more from a career than a nice green lawn of prosperity and security. The fact is, a green lawn isn’t quite exceptional or unique enough for a GYPSY. Where the Baby Boomers wanted to live The American Dream, GYPSYs want to live Their Own Personal Dream.” 

From Factory Farm To Organic Icon: Inside White Oak Pastures
I don’t eat meat, but I wish more ranchers had this attitude so those that do would have more humane options: “I want to do a really good job raising my animals correctly and making a living doing it,” Harris says. “This land, these animals, they’re not really mine. I’ve got custody of them, and I need to do it right.”

 

Leave a Reply

