Links Worth Sharing: Food Systems and Policy, plus Handstands!

Food Insecurity: Dieting as Ideology, as Oppression, and as Privilege

I wish I could have gone to this talk; this is a fascinating topic to me.  “At this time in the history of the world, food security and the related issues of food justice and food sovereignty are serious development issues. In stark contrast to the obsession with diet and weight loss among the privileged populations of North America and Europe, the majority of the world’s people do not have the luxury of dieting for weight loss.”

On Student Empowerment, Hope, and Taking Action

I’ve definitely felt helpless in light of the big issues at hand. I’m trying to figure out the small steps I can take to move forward, but it can be challening!  “Students wanted to know: “How can we possibly hope to create change within such a muddled, corrupt system?” I drew my response from the one I’d heard dozens of times from professors lecturing on similar abstruse world conundrums: “Well, it’s complicated.” But something didn’t feel right about offering this response so flippantly and it certainly didn’t sit well with my students.” 

Report: Meat Producers Ignore Pleas For Health, Environmental Reform

But then there’s articles like this. “Five years ago, a landmark report excoriated the animal agriculture industry’s practices and laid out a road map for how it could do better. But in the years since, the problems are just as bad — and maybe even worse.”

And then, just for something a little more fun…

How to Handstand Better Than Luke Skywalker

“We can draw from Master Yoda’s wisdom again; our Jedi Master was more capable than even the biggest and strongest of the Sith Lords.“Size matters not.  Look at me. Judge me by my size, do you?” – Yoda”

 

2 thoughts on “Links Worth Sharing: Food Systems and Policy, plus Handstands!

Leave a Reply

