Moustache 5K Race Recap

Over the weekend, we went to visit my parents and celebrate my dad’s birthday. Alex is sporting a mustache this month for Movember, and my dad has has had one for as long as I can remember; I asked him this weekend when the last time was that he didn’t have one, and he said he thought it was around age 15. So with all of that, we decided to celebrate my dad and support the Movember cause by running the Moustache 5K on Saturday.

This was a fun, untimed run with lots of people decked out in costumes and fancy mustaches. I got one of my own:

photo 1

And here’s our group:

IMG_3209

I’m not going to lie, this race was tough for me, even though I ran it at approximately a 9 minute pace (I ended up falling behind Alex a bit and didn’t time myself, so that’s a rough estimate based on his finish time). I got a cold on Friday and went out too fast, and the combo of those things did me in. But I finished with a smile on my face and was there to high five my dad as he crossed the finish line:

photo 2 photo 3

 

And of course, Alex and I had to ride the mustache see-saw (teeter-totter? What do you say?)

photo 4

This is only my second 5K, and I’ve never run an official timed race, so I still don’t have an official time to beat! I haven’t set myself up for success with the last two races – no sleep for the Women’s Health 10K and a cold for this one – so I want to make I’m better prepared for the next one. It would be nice to finish without feeling like I want to puke.

But mostly, I’m so happy we got out there and hit the road together with my dad. For the past few years, we’ve been turkey trotting with my family on Thanksgiving, but we won’t be there this year, so I’m glad we got a race in! Happy birthday, dad!

Did you race over the weekend? Would you ever sport a mustache? 

Leave a Reply

