Getting Off the Mopey Express

I put on my Vibrams for the first time in a long time this morning and I felt like a new woman.

That sounds silly, I’m sure. But I feel like I’ve been moping around my life for the last three months and when I pulled out my crazy toe shoes to go to the gym, it felt like the cloud had lifted. Maybe it’s temporary and the rain will come pouring down tomorrow, today is going to be a good day.

This morning, a bird pooped in the three inches between my feet while I was standing on the street, and none of it hit me. If that’s not a good omen, I don’t know what is. (I realize that bird shit is supposed to be good luck, but I was on my way to the gym and I would’ve been mighty annoyed.)

Now, the semester ended yesterday which coincidentally probably is the reason for my good cheer. Coincidence or cause, I’ll take it! It’s time to shake things up around here and I’m going to use today’s momentum to move it forward!

The first thing I’m going to do is start a new weight lifting journey and share it here on the blog. I’ve talked a lot about running before, and I’m still running, but I really want to get stronger. I’ve tried to start the New Rules of Lifting Supercharged program like ten times and it hasn’t worked, so I’m moving on to something simpler.

A long time ago, I bought the Nerd Fitness Rebel Strength Guide Deluxe version and then promptly didn’t use it because it seemed too simple. A workout of push presses, pushups, pull ups, and side planks? PSH. NOT HARD ENOUGH.

Oh wait, I can’t actually do a pull up, and today when I did good form pushups, I did eight of them. And my arms are actually tired as I type this, so I think it’s plenty hard.

So each week on Wednesday, I’ll share my thoughts and experiences from the previous week. It’s a six week program, and I’ll be increasing my weight training from two days per week to three, but the workouts are much shorter and more manageable, so I don’t think that will actually be a problem.

I won’t be sharing the workouts verbatim because I bought the guide, and I wouldn’t want to jack money from Steve over at Nerd Fitness, but I will talk generally about the exercises and any big improvements. Like, if I can ever do one unassisted pull up, I might have to do a mega giveaway here on the blog just to express my utter joy.

I also have other ideas on how I want to share new recipes with you, continue sharing my journey and feelings about yoga, and continuing to share more of my in depth feelings about motivation, rest, and identity when it comes to fitness and healthy eating.

So that’s the plan. I’m (probably) sticking to it, and invite you along for the ride!

Leave a Reply

