NF Dumbbell Division, Week 1

I’m one week into this Nerd Fitness program, and I’ve completed four of the workouts. Here are my thoughts thus far:

  • I need to get a resistance band so I can do assisted pull-ups. Right now, I’m using the machine that provides support, but I think a resistance band would be better. I can’t even do a negative pull up so that’s not an option. I see a 2014 goal coming on…
  • Doing only two main lifts plus an ab exercise is both refreshing and a little weird after taking on the New Rules of Lifting program. I love that the workouts are simple and the exercises included are pretty common knowledge. This simplicity is exactly what I need right now. 
  • Only having a few exercises means I’m focusing a lot on form and going heavier than I normally do. That said, I think I can go even heavier; I just wanted to make sure I had the form down correctly first. 
  • Another thing I’m getting used to is split body workouts. I used to do this all the time in college, but in the last few years have switched to more of a full body focus. Doing only lower body or upper body has been good, especially since I’m lifting three days per week instead of two.
  • Each workout has a “finishing move” that is a little cardio blast. One two of the days, the workout is to do as many burpees as you can in four minutes. This seemed really daunting to me because as I’ve mentioned, burpees are hard as hell. So I broke it up into 20-second increments – 20 seconds of work, 20 seconds rest – and that helps me get through the four minutes.

And here are some numbers from the end of this week, for reference:

  • Deadlifts: 90 pounds
  • Push ups, 3 sets: 8/8/7
  • Bent over row: 25 pounds, each hand
  • Push press: 20 pounds, each hand
  • Lunges: 30 pounds, each hand
  • Front squats: 25 pounds, each hand
  • Pull ups: I’m able to do most sets with 90 pounds of support

So that’s that! Excited to see what the next week brings!

 Have you started a new fitness program recently? Can you do a pull-up? If so, what’s your secret?! 

 

Leave a Reply

