NF Dumbbell Division, Week 3: How I Track My Numbers

So I’m going to be honest…it feels like I’ve been doing this program forever. It’s kind of hard for me to imagine that it’s only been three weeks. I’m mentally used to lifting only twice per week, so adding a third workout makes it a touch overwhelming sometimes. 

But I’m seeing progress, and I’m still very pleased with the simplicity of the program. I also really appreciate that the workouts are only 40 – 45 minutes. When I was doing the New Rules of Lifting workouts, they were taking at least an hour, if not an hour and fifteen minutes, so I’m thrilled with these shorter workout sessions. And I’m  sore so I know they’re working! 

  • Deadlifts: 100 pounds
  • Push ups, 3 sets: 10/10/10
  • Bent over row: 30 pounds, each hand
  • Push press: 25 pounds, each hand
  • Lunges: 30 pounds, each hand
  • Front squats: 60 pound barbell
  • Pull ups: Not sure how to quantify this, since I have to do them with assistance

I know I can push myself more on the push ups and the dead lifts. I think I’ll be settled at 25 pounds for awhile for the push press; I find it to be a pretty challenging exercise to do correctly, so I don’t want to sacrifice my form for heavier weight. 

I’m also focusing on my pull up form, and I’m adding lat pull downs to each one of my workouts so I can work on developing those muscles. I tend to pull my shoulders up to my ears and don’t pinch my shoulder blades back, so I’m practicing with various weights so I can get the feel of it down. 

This may sound silly, but I’m really thrilled to have come up with a system for me to track my workouts easily. I used to carry around a pen and paper, which totally works but I’d misplace the paper, or I’d forget to bring it with me and then when I was done with a set of workouts, I didn’t remember to put the info into my spreadsheet. So now, I just have the workouts in a draft email. I put in the numbers as I workout, and at the end of the week, I email it to myself! Voila! Easy! 

How do you track your workouts? 

2 thoughts on “NF Dumbbell Division, Week 3: How I Track My Numbers

  1. OOoo. That’s smart (the draft email) I bring my “fitness log” with me. It has a nifty plastic pocket I stick my paper into. Right now, I’m still establishing solid habits, and my journal is like a security blanket (What if I eat something, and forget to write it down?!!). But maybe as I settle in, I can do something similar with my phone.

Leave a Reply

