Weird and Tasty: A Chia Pudding Recipe

Sometimes when I see recipes on blogs, I have a “wait, what?” reaction. I mean, overnight oats? Who wants soggy, cold oats? It turns out, I want overnight oats in my belly all the time because they are delicious and require no morning prep. Waking up and rolling to the kitchen to eat is exactly how I like my mornings to go.

Chia pudding is another breakfast item of which I was highly skeptical. I used them in my overnight oats but a whole bowl of them? Could that really be good? Wouldn’t it be slimy? Again, though, it offered the promise of little to no work in the morning, so I gave it a shot. Plus, chia seeds are super healthy. There are five million articles about the health benefits of chia seeds – here’s one.

And honestly, the texture is a little funky but I like it. I made this recipe a bunch of times until I got all the toppings on there that I wanted. I admit, it’s a lot of toppings. Feel free to edit more than I did, but I promise this combo is good.

IMG_1085

Matcha Coconut Cacao Chia Pudding
Inspired by Matcha Green Tea Pudding from Choosing Raw
Serves 1

Ingredients

  • 1 cups almond milk
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp matcha powder
  • 3 tbsp chia seeds
  • 1 tbsp cacao nibs
  • 2 tbsp flaked coconut
  • 1 tbsp toasted and chopped nuts
  • Orange zest, flaky sea salt, and maple syrup for serving (optional)

Directions

  1. Combine almond milk, vanilla, matcha powder, and chia seeds in a jar with a lid and shake vigorously until well combined.
  2. Pour mixture into a bowl. (Alternatively, you can whisk it in the bowl to begin with, but I like the shaking action).
  3. Let sit in fridge at least an hour or overnight.
  4. Add cacao nibs, flaked coconut, nuts, zest, sea salt, and a drizzle of maple syrup just before eating.

IMG_1087

Sometimes things that are weird are also delicious.

What’s your favorite weirdly delicious thing?

(I used to eat Twix Bars with, I kid you not, nacho cheese for lunch in high school. I’ve come a long way.) 

 

Leave a Reply

