Links Worth Sharing: Commonplace Books, Yoga and Relationships, and Procrastination

How and Why To Keep a “Commonplace Book”

I am SO into this idea. I really want to start one. “A commonplace book is a central resource or depository for ideas, quotes, anecdotes, observations and information you come across during your life and didactic pursuits. The purpose of the book is to record and organize these gems for later use in your life, in your business, in your writing, speaking or whatever it is that you do.”

A Side of Feminism with Your Food?

A friend asked me this week about the feminist implications of bringing baked goods to your coworkers, which I’d never considered. The intersectionality between food and feminism (and lots of other issues!) is huge. “No matter how progressive we think we are, we continue to be bogged down in gender roles. Women put daily food on the table. They make meals. Men, however, cook professionally. They make works of art.”

Yoga and the Garden of Relationships

I’m also really exploring how to bring yoga to my relationships – and how awesome and sometimes hard that can be. “I believe that yoga is a profound spiritual practice, one that I have devoted many years to and will continue to invest in for my entire life. However, I am realizing now that another spiritual practice is taking center stage as the most sacred path for my personal evolution. This is the practice of relationships…Relationships come in many forms: intimate connections, friendships, broken relationships, acquaintances, co-workers, and so on.”

When You Change

Truth. “Be aware, when you change, evolve or try something new you will make people very uncomfortable for 2 reasons.”

Procrastination is a Mindfulness Problem

This post totally resonated with me and it made me think of more effective ways to tackle my tendency to procrastinate. “You can’t step back to clarify what your Most Important Tasks are unless you realize you’re procrastinating in the first place. You can’t break a task into small steps unless you realize you’re dreading the task. You can’t clear away distractions unless you realize you’ve been following the urge to go to these distractions.”

Changing Plans

Man, I needed to read this. “Lately I’ve been thinking about the power of being flexible. Of living life in the moment, and being open to possibility, rather than having rigid expectations about how things will play out. How often are you able to surrender to the moment rather than freaking out when something unexpected comes along?”

Leave a Reply

