The Oh She Glows Cookbook Review and Giveaway!

I’ve built up quite the collection of cookbooks over the years. I started with an old Vegetarian Times cookbook that I stole from my mom, and then it’s progressed rapidly from there. My parents were visiting this weekend and my mom saw my three (!) shelves of cookbooks and asked, “are those really ALL cookbooks?”

My collection, however, didn’t stop me from eagerly awaiting the arrival of The Oh She Glows Cookbook. I received the pre-order as a Christmas gift, and when it came a few weeks ago I was so excited.

IMG_3826

The cookbook all vegan, and all awesome. The photography is lovely, as to be expected if you read Oh She Glows. There are a ton of recipes, plus helpful reference chapters on building up a pantry, cooking tools, and staples like cashew cream, mushroom gravy, and lots of other basics. Angela’s friendly and funny voice comes through the book the entire time, which made me want to read it even when I wasn’t cooking from it!

I’ve made four of the recipes from the book, and my favorite thing about them is that they are nourishing but very simple to make. The soups were quick and easy to make; the tomato and mushroom sauce (which I served over lentils) was hearty and full of flavor.

IMG_0005

My favorite recipe has to be the Miso Power Bowl which I’ve made three times! Having it for lunch keeps me filled up to power through my afternoon classes. My only addition to it was avocado, because avocado makes everything better. I haven’t tackled the dessert section, but I honestly can’t wait to try it. So many of the recipes look decadent and delicious.

IMG_0006

The food is filling and not fussy. The book is made up nutritious meals that will work for real people who are flying around trying to do a million things at once. There aren’t a bunch of imitation products – everything is based on whole grains, legumes, nuts, and vegetables. I really appreciate this way of eating, and this cookbook is definitely going to be one I return to again and again.

IMG_3840

My photos aren’t the best, but I highly recommend checking out Oh She Glows to get an idea of what the recipes are like.

Because I love the book so much, I’ve decided to share the love and give one to a reader!  Please leave a comment telling me what your favorite cookbook is (I always need new ideas!) and I’ll choose someone at random to receive a copy of The Oh She Glows cookbook. I’ll choose a winner on Monday, April 7!

31 thoughts on “The Oh She Glows Cookbook Review and Giveaway!

  1. I’d love to win a copy of this book! My current favorite cookbook is Chloe’s Kitchen by Chloe Coscarelli, also known as the first vegan winner of Cupcake Wars. I thought anyone who won a baking contest without eggs, butter, or cream deserved a look!

  2. I love Oh She Glows and the book’s on my wishlist. I want it even more now after reading your review. 😉

    One of my favourite cookbooks is Rose Ellliot’s Mother, Baby and Toddler book as it’s packed full with easy and yummy veggie recipes for the whole family. Some of our family favourites come from that book.

  3. Lately my favorite is Isa Does It. I also really like Passionate Vegetarian and Bean by Bean.

  4. I’ve been using Fresh from the Vegan Slow Cooker a lot lately, but most of my favorites are from the Oh She Glows blog!

    • I know, you can’t really go wrong with any OSG recipe – my favorite is probably her enchiladas! I also have the vegan slow cooker but haven’t used it much – any favorites I should prioritize?

  5. While I tend to use recipe blogs more than actual books, I have to say that my current favourite cookbook is Canadian Living: The Vegetarian Collection by Alison Kent. It provides a lot of helpful advice and I love the way it’s organized. I follow the Oh She Glows blog and have been eyeing her book since it came out! 🙂

  6. Ooo I’d love to win this cookbook! My favorite go-to is Moosewood Cooking for Health. Every recipe I’ve made has been fabulous

  7. My favourite is still the Complete Harrowsmith Cookbook. It’s not trendy or new, but it’s got so many of my childhood favourites.

  8. Pingback: {Almost} Instant Chocolate Chia Pudding — Oh She Glows

Leave a Reply

