Jumping on the Juicing Bandwagon

I had brunch plans on Monday, which felt very luxurious and is one of the perks of being on a student schedule. But I found myself done with a pretty heavy lifting workout in the morning, and no meal on the horizon for hours.  I wanted something nutrient dense, protein filled, and light enough that I’d be hungry again a few hours later. A pretty tall order, if you ask me.

For the protein part, I threw together a protein banana soft serve that was so tasty, I know I’ll be making it on a regular basis.

IMG_0012

Peanut Butter Protein Soft Serve

Ingredients: 

  • 1 frozen banana
  • 1 scoop vanilla protein powder of choice (I use Sun Warrior)
  • 1-3 tablespoons coconut water, depending on desired consistency
  • 1 – 2 tablespoons of peanut butter, divided
  • Chia seeds, for topping

Method:

  1. Add frozen banana to food processor and process until smooth.
  2. Add the protein powder and pulse until incorporated.
  3. Add coconut water, and half the peanut butter and pulse until incorporated.
  4. Serve immediately, topped with chia seeds and remaining peanut butter.

I also wanted some greens. I knew I wouldn’t be getting them at brunch because I’d be facing tough decisions like an avocado and Jarlsberg scramble or cinnamon French toast. So I busted out our juicer for the first time.

I registered for a juicer because people that love juicing really LOVE it. And I’m all about jumping on the bandwagon (Alex and I get really into baseball right when the Giants are in the playoffs).  But since receiving it for our wedding, I’ve been kind of intimidated and haven’t used it. Turns out, it’s as easy as flipping a switch and shoving a lot of produce down a chute.

I did a kale, celery, ginger, carrot mixture, with a squeeze of lemon after the fact. One factor that has made me skeptical of juicing at home is that it takes a lot of produce to make a decent amount of juice. Then I remembered that I actually don’t love a huge glass of juice, especially when it’s a component of another meal. This small glass of juice was a perfect addition to a light breakfast.

Bonus: I felt like I was having a cocktail at breakfast. Upon further consideration, I’m not sure any alcohol would taste good with green juice.

I’m not going to be juicing daily, but the juicer has now taken up residence on the counter, hopefully as motivation to make a small batch a few times per week. Then my next task is to tackle using the pulp!

Are you into juicing? What’s your favorite combo? 

One thought on “Jumping on the Juicing Bandwagon

  1. I love juicing especially because this way you can get “rid” of over ripe almost gone-bad fruites and veggies.

    I love, love, love my apple juice with carrots 😉

Leave a Reply

