Links Worth Reading: Bees, Mindfulness, and Arcades!

Program Looks to Give Bees a Leg (or Six) Up

While the program only has a budget of $3 million over five states, I’m happy to ANY federal funding being allocated on this important issue. “The new program will encourage farmers and ranchers to grow alfalfa, clover and other crops favored by bees and which serve a second purpose of being forage for livestock. Other proposed changes in practices include fencing property for managing grazing pastures in rotation so that they can replenish, leaving living plants for the bees.”

More About Mindfulness

I really like this balanced approach to mindfulness. Sometimes I get caught up in thinking that every single moment of every activity needs to be mindful, and I get so overwhelmed that I get caught in an anxiety spiral instead of being aware. “[Mindful running] is by far the most profound of the three approaches, but not always easy for me to sustain. It’s not that any of these is necessarily more enjoyable than any other. It really depends on my mood. But sometimes, the mindful run is exactly what I need.” 

Study Questions Fat and Heart Disease Link

To be sure, there is lots of research still to be done and some people think that the ever changing nutritional guidelines make nutrition science a junk science. But I’m attracted to it for precisely that reason – it’s ever changing and dynamic. We’re always learning more about how the body utilizes nutrients and what best fuels us. “Many of us have long been told that saturated fat, the type found in meat, butter and cheese, causes heart disease. But a large and exhaustive new analysis by a team of international scientists found no evidence that eating saturated fat increased heart attacks and other cardiac events.”

The Cure for Your Distraction Syndrome

As always, Leo at Zen Habits writes exactly what I need to read. “I absolutely adore the Internet, but there’s no doubt it has made us more distracted than ever.”

The 5 Biggest Lessons I Learned at the Arcade

I love the way Nerd Fitness frames things in a totally different way than all the other fitness related blogs that I read. I’m always inspired after reading articles like this to try something totally new. “Arcades have hundreds of games because everybody likes something different.  I love watching people set a high score in any game, regardless of whether or not it’s a game I actually want to play.  I watch them be good at the games they enjoy, and then move on to the game I enjoy, focusing on bettering my own high score. Life is no different.”

Leave a Reply

