3 Breaths

We are moving at the end of this month. Three weeks and change, to be exact. That’s pretty soon. I’ve started packing. I’ve started crying and packing, at the same time actually. I’m a pretty good multitasker. I learned how to cry and run during the Nike Women’s Marathon and now I know how to cry and pack. I’m really getting a resume boost from my emotions here. 

During this month of transition, it seemed fitting that my yoga teacher would issue a challenge to do one yoga pose a day for the entire month of August. Just one pose. For three breaths. She said it could be used as a launching pad for a home practice. 

I’m going to be developing my home practice considerably in Seattle; both my schedule and finances will likely not allow for classes multiple times per week. One pose a day for three breaths also seems like a good touchstone in this month that will likely have me revving high with excitement and nerves and stress (packing for an out of state move seems infinitely more daunting.) 

Then the question is, which pose? I felt moved to choose forward bend, uttanasana. And handily enough, it’s apparently indicated for anxiety and sinusitis, which has been rearing its ugly head lately. It’s not commonly one of my favorite poses, but it feels right so I’m going with it. 

I’m also looking for any moving tips – both practical and emotional – so if you have them, please feel free to leave them in the comments!

 

 

2 thoughts on “3 Breaths

  1. That is such a great idea! I always want to start practising on my own, rather than only when there’s a class running in my remote town. 3 breaths a day sounds MORE than do-able!

Leave a Reply

