Summer Reading List

Summer is for lazy weekend mornings in bed with good coffee. Or afternoons in the park with a picnic. Or poolside with a cocktail. Wherever you are, you should have a good book with you. Here’s what I’ve been reading and loving lately:

The Interestings by Meg Wolitzer

This book explores the paths we see for ourselves when we’re young, and how the reality that unfolds doesn’t always match up. There’s also a fascinating exploration of the impact of economic class on friendships.

Interestings

 

This is Where I Leave You by Johnathan Trooper

This book was fun and real and moving, which isn’t always an easy combination to achieve. The author’s portrayal of family dynamics was hilariously spot on.

WhereILeaveYou

The Age of Miracles by Karen Thompson Walker

This book surprised me, which I always enjoy. I guess I didn’t read the description because I had no idea what it was about and it turns out it was about some pretty crazy stuff! I’m not going to ruin it for you in case you also want to be surprised, but it’s worth a read!

age

Tiny Beautiful Things by Cheryl Strayed

This book broke me open. I’m sad I got it from the library because I want to read it again and again and again. I recently had a moment with a stranger where she said, “I love Cheryl Strayed.” And I said, “She’s the best.” There was a pause and then the stranger said, “Yup, she really is. There’s no other way to describe her.”

tiny

Boy Snow Bird by Helen Oyeyemi

This book has a surreal quality that I really enjoyed, particularly as it tackles big subjects like racial identity, family dynamics, and what it means to be honest.

boysnowbird

What are you reading this summer? 

2 thoughts on “Summer Reading List

Leave a Reply

