Reflecting on my 27th Birthday

I turned 27 this week and as much as I’d like to be a cool cat that doesn’t care about birthdays, I really care about them! And like to celebrate them! 

Over the weekend, I celebrated with (most of) my very best friends where we did a chocolate tasting with Dandelion Chocolate. I recommend a visit if you are ever in the area! We learned about Dandelion a few years ago when we went to a beer and chocolate pairing event; they were making chocolate in a garage at the time! When they first opened their current storefront, I remember them selling out within the hour. It’s been really great to watch them grow as a business and it was a particularly delicious way to celebrate my birthday. 

IMG_4733IMG_4737

 

 

IMG_4745IMG_4732

Despite all of us being huge chocolate fans, it was tough to finish the dessert PLUS the drink PLUS the chocolate from the tasting. But don’t worry, I packed it up and took it home for after dinner. 

On my actual birthday, I hung out with a friend all day and we worked on vision/inspiration/intention boards. I’m about to go through/am going through a big transition away from my comfort zone into a new city, very different living space, and graduate school. I’d like to go through the transition with intention and a vision, because it’s easy for me to get swept up in changes without really paying attention to how/who I want to be in that space. So I created four boards focusing on self-care, fitness/health, career, and Seattle/relationships. I am going to put them in my meditation space as a reminder for moments that feel overwhelming. 

 IMG_4783

All that visioning made me work up an appetite, so Alex and I visited The Mill for pizza. We’re regulars there for toast and coffee in the mornings, and really wanted to check out the pizza before we moved to Seattle so it seemed like the perfect opportunity. The crust was probably the best I’ve ever had – crispy, chewy, cornmeal-y, and so freaking delicious. It was topped with summer squash and baby kale. Then we checked out the view at the top of Twin Peaks and of course, finished with ice cream. We went to Holy Gelato, which had 12 non-dairy flavors! Although I enjoy regular ice cream with some frequency, I’m always intrigued by non-dairy versions and these did not disappoint. 

 IMG_4785 IMG_4788 IMG_4791 IMG_4793

 

It was the perfect birthday weekend – good friends, good food, and good reflection and introspection. And now, it’s back to packing! Less than three weeks left!  

Leave a Reply

